Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 13,972 Ratings

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • Excellent book!

    5
    By MygiftsA&L
    This is a wonderful book and I hated to see it end!
  • Breathtakingly Phenomenal!

    5
    By Parsons D.
    The most captivating and beautifully articulated murder mysteries I have ever read. Definitely a book I intend to add to my collection in order to read again in the years to come.
  • Awesome!

    5
    By zannersstafford
    Worth reading
  • Amazing!!

    5
    By Randa1121
    This is one of the best books I have read!! It really draws you in!! I couldn’t put it down..
  • Amazing!

    5
    By Yvo R
    Finished in 3 days! Could not put it down!
  • Simplistic

    2
    By ryaf33
    Reading this, I thought with all the hype it was getting that I wouldn’t be left wanting more. I enjoyed the sensory delight it brought, but felt the book was extremely simplistic and predictable. No real explanation for why the characters did what they did, simple language, I believed the story line would be much more complex and was left short handed. Don’t know why it was a #1. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it still but was upset to find my predictions true and a year for more from this.
  • Outstanding

    5
    By LLeeLB
    I could not put it down!
  • I wish the story and characters could go on...

    5
    By 4thgradeteacherparent
    Wow! This may be my new favorite book of all time. Owens did a magnificent job of awakening the readers’ senses. Just wow!
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    1
    By ginger pumpkin
    It was very difficult to stay with this book til the end. It was packed with cliches and cardboard characters.
  • When there’s nothing else to read

    2
    By 45$,!-&2
    The book became a bit more interesting considering the trial, but overall felt flat. I did enjoy the imagery, but wouldn’t read it solely for that.