Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 9,879 Ratings

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • Great for Younger Reader

    3
    By Tipping pt
    Would have really enjoyed this in my earlier years. The writing is beautiful for environment and emotional intrigue but the story itself is somewhat trivial if that makes sense? I had a lot of “Really?” moments.
  • Poetry

    5
    By Renno Demar
    A beautiful book of life and the human condition. This work of love gives a hope of life as we all should want to live it, in wonderment of Jehovah Gods amazing creation with a hope and faith of a forever for his creation.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Sheila Ann Mcm
    This book is amazing, like nothing I’ve ever read before. I always love a good mystery, and in this story, the mystery was so well interwoven throughout a story that went far beyond mystery. The author, Delia Owens descriptions of the habitats of the woods and marshes, like hummingbirds and the effect of light on their luminescence, the doodlebugs leaving their trails in the marsh....were fascinating to me. The life existing in the marshes, the difference between the teeming world of the marsh and the stagnation of the swamp beyond, as well the backdrop of the South and the desperately poor girl with dignity and incredible courage to survive against all odds, despite isolation and abandonment, was so sensitively and beautifully presented. This is a work of art in fiction. Also, I began with the audiobook, but was so fascinated by some of the language of nature I’d never heard, as well as terms of the South, I purchased the ebook so that could look up the words and learn. Both forms great. The audiobook narrator is outstanding. Have begun a book club and this is our first book, first meeting tomorrow night. Can’t wait.
  • Superb!

    5
    By carolynlm51
    The best book I’ve read since The Help. I was sad when I finished it because I wasn’t ready to leave “the marsh”. The storytelling is flawless and beautiful. It’s also the first book I’ve read in a long time where I was surprised at the end! I love that; when I can’t predict the ending! This story is perfect. I just hope they don’t mess it up if they make it into a movie! Read this book!
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    2
    By DCDebbie
    So much for relying on NYT best sellers list. This book was bad, really bad. I renamed it “Beverly Hillbillies go to Mayberry. I too lived in NC during this time and I think “Miz Dalyela” went back a decade too far, and about 5 states too south. It had its not so bad parts, Kya's transition into her teenage, then adult years was written very smoothly, unlike other transitions that are confusing and leaves you feeling like you missed something. I did finish it and the ending caught me by surprise, which is always nice. Just too hokey, too unrealistic, and at times, too much detail. I know alot about bird feathers now ; )
  • Best read this year

    5
    By Guidogal46
    I LOVED this book. So happy they are making a miniseries. Characters are so true and maintained their persona throughout the book. I laughed and cried. Ending was a shocker
  • Where the Crawdads sing

    5
    By BuckyorVenus
    Excellent read - full of wonder,mystery and heart.
  • Captivating from Start to Finish

    5
    By Lads62
    Beautiful descriptions of the marsh and this young girl’s fight for survival. Can’t wait for more from this writer! Would make a great film!
  • Where the Crawdad Sings

    5
    By ath112
    This is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Deliah Owens makes the characters become your friends. I couldn’t stop reading. I’m missing my friends now that I’ve completed reading!
  • Maybe my favorite read ever!

    5
    By kmoore.hickory
    The novel started a little slow to me and adjusting to the country lingo she intertwined into the story’s characters took some patience, but wow! I love this book! It’s like three stories in one. Like I paid for one, but got two more for free! Mystery, romance and suspense all rolled into one! And a science lesson to boot! Takes hold of your interest and keeps you wanting more. Can’t wait to see what Reese Witherspoon does with the movie!